g
h

These architectural models were produced by Daniel Grataloup (b. 1937) between 1969 and 2021. Grataloup studied fine and decorative arts in Paris and went on to patent his own construction method in 1966. Alongside Pascal Häusermann (1936–2011) and Jean-Louis Chanéac (1931–1993), he was a pioneer of architecture prospective (forward-looking architecture), a style that was widely debated on the Geneva scene in the early 1970s. His distinctive works—referred to as “sculptural architecture” by French art critic Michel Ragon—combined sprayed concrete, the mollusk shape, and “multi-shell” structures.

In 1968, at the invitation of Jacqueline Jeanneret, Grataloup moved to Geneva, where his experimental style was welcomed with open arms. The following year, he designed the Temple Saint-Jean in La Chaux-de-Fonds, using his patented sprayed-concrete-on-metal-frame technique to create a spiral, ellipsoid-shaped building with no corners. In 1972, he began receiving commissions for private residences. In Anières, for example, the interior layout is influenced by the topology, by natural light and—most importantly—by the way in which the residents occupy and move within the space. He went on to design various other homes: in Le Grand-Saconnex (1974), Conches (1976) and Lissieu, France (1975). 

In the mid-1970s, Grataloup turned his attention to multi-unit housing. He designed vertical urban buildings with a central column (for occupant movement and utilities) to which prefabricated, shell-shaped units were attached.

The models on display here underscore the various scales at which Grataloup works —from tall, multi-occupant buildings to residences and low-relief structures. These models also carry different statuses: some show the building’s load-bearing structure or interior layout, while others are very much conceptual or experimental in nature. In 2012, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York acquired a number of Grataloup’s drawings and models for its collection. 

Despite the canton of Geneva’s misgivings about Grataloup’s architectural style in 1976, the Department for Planning, Housing and Energy (DALE) added every one of his designs to its register of listed buildings in 2015. 

  • The exhibition is curated by Julien Fronsacq, with the support of the Office of Heritage and Sites, Department of Territory (DT), canton of Geneva
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation genevoise de bienfaisance Valeria Rossi di Montelera
ghfk

g
h

Daniel Grataloup (*1937) présente ici des maquettes d’architecture produites entre 1969 et 2021. Après des études de Beaux-arts et un diplôme aux Arts décoratifs de Paris, Daniel Grataloup dépose en 1966 un brevet de construction. Pionnier d’une « architecture prospective » très discutée dans le bassin genevois à l’aube des années 1970, aux côtés de Pascal Häusermann (1936-2011) et de Chanéac (1931-1993), Daniel Grataloup inaugure une œuvre singulière, une « architecture-sculpture » selon les termes de Michel Ragon, conjuguant le béton projeté, la forme « moule » et « l’urbanisme multicoques ».

A l’invitation de Jacqueline Jeanneret, Daniel Grataloup s’installe à Genève en 1968, où ses recherches bénéficient d’un accueil bienveillant. L’année suivante, il réalise le temple St-Jean à La-Chaux-de-Fonds : mettant en œuvre son brevet de projection de béton sur une armature en treillis métallique, il érige un édifice en spirale, ellipsoïde et dénué d'angles. Dès 1972, il reçoit des commandes pour des logements individuels. A Anières le volume architectural est déterminé par la topologie, la lumière naturelle et surtout par l’aire que dessinent les mouvements et les gestes de ses habitants. Suivront ensuite diverses villas au Grand-Saconnex (1974), à Conches (1976), ainsi que dans le Lyonnais, à Lissieu (1975). 

Au mitan de la décennie, Daniel Grataloup s’attelle au logement collectif. Au service de l’aménagement urbain, l’architecture se fait verticale. « L’urbanisme multicoques » s’organise autour d’une colonne centrale, pour la circulation et la distribution des fluides, sur laquelle se fixent des capsules préfabriquées.

Les maquettes soulignent les différentes échelles d’action de Daniel Grataloup, de la cheminée au logement collectif, en passant par le bas-relief et la villa. Les maquettes ont des statuts très variés : certaines révèlent la structure porteuse de l’édifice ou les forces du volume ; d’autres sont de l’ordre de la recherche et de la prospection. En 2012, le Museum of Modern Art de New York fait l’acquisition de nombreux dessins et maquettes pour sa collection. 

Et, si en 1976, l’administration publique avait des réserves concernant l’architecture de Daniel Grataloup, en 2015 le département de l'aménagement, du logement et de l’énergie (DALE) inscrit à l'inventaire l’ensemble des constructions de Daniel Grataloup. 

  • L’exposition est organisée par Julien Fronsacq, avec le soutien de l’Office du patrimoine et des sites, Département du territoire (DT), République et Canton de Genève
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation genevoise de bienfaisance Valeria Rossi di Montelera
ghfk