g
h

With a multiplicity of activities that take the “journey” as their fundamental condition, Italian artist Laura Grisi (1939–2017) embodies a nomadic female subject defying the politics of identity, the univocal nature of representation, and the unidirectionality of time. 

The urgency of topics she addressed determines the nature of her recent rediscovery: a renewal critical attention that goes beyond the reappraisal of her contribution to Conceptual art, but also concerns gender and, as Teresa Castro recently put it, “eco-feminism.” 

In 1969, Grisi created Volume of Air, a cubic room completely white and filled only with air. No image nor any other thing appeared to those who crossed the room, as if there was simply nothing there. Nonetheless, thanks to the neon light, a sort of whitish dust permeated the environment, defining a volume that was both dense and elusive. Anything but a sign of absence, an aerial matter that eludes visibility. It is precisely the recognition of air’s role in Grisi’s work that fundamentally separates her from other artists of the Arte Povera movement: “I didn’t want a painting or a sculpture containing air, earth, or water, the artist stated. I didn’t want air, earth, or water to become objects. I wanted to recreate the experience of natural phenomena.” 

Her “meteorological” environments since 1968 intended to reproduce natural elements (or forces) such as fog, rainbows, rain, vortexes, sand, stones, etc. One can draw here a parallel with researches by contemporary women artists such as Judy Chicago, Maria Nordman, Teresa Burga, or Joan Jonas, to name just a few. However, for Grisi, air is a medium. Neither reified into an artistic object, nor the subject of scientific study. As feminist theorist Luce Irigaray asked: “is not air the whole of our habitation as mortals? Is there a dwelling more vast, more spacious, or even more generally peaceful than that of air? Can man live elsewhere than in air?”  

Volume of Air is a first phase, however paradigmatic, in the cycle of metamorphosis through which Grisi gives space to the atmosphere, to its changes of pressure or temperature, to evaporation or condensation. Or, rather, it represents only one of the instances where the artist uses the atmosphere as the generator of spaces—a series of environments in which natural phenomena are artificially reproduced and transposed inside the exhibition space. 

The wind is central to her intervention for the Teatro delle mostre at La Tartaruga gallery in 1968. Fog appears in 1969 (together with luminous columns) in the courtyard of Rome’s Marlborough gallery. Rain is presented in Grisi’s solo exhibition at Cologne’s Galerie Thelen in 1970. A whirlpool is the subject of a 16mm film projected onto the floor inside a circular space. A rainbow “machine” recreates “all the colors of the spectrum that air, which is colorless, lets pass through.” These are all chapters from a broader project, partially unrealized, given that the artist promised that “there will also be hail, and the condensation and cooling of air.” 

There were thus many reasons for the international recognition of this environmental aspect of Grisi’s work: she was included in the seminal exhibition by Virginia Gunter at Boston’s Museum of Fine Arts in 1971, Earth Air Fire Water: Elements of Art, which demonstrated the “environ-mentality” that pervaded the art of this time. She exhibited together with Hans Haacke, Dan Graham, Christo, Michael Heizer, Allan Kaprow, Dennis Oppenheim, Richard Serra, and other artists close to the “earthworks” movement which emerged in the 1960s. However, in Grisi’s work, the tension between the macro- and the micro-scale (the universal and the particular, the past and the future) is presented by means of a radical attention to the minimal, the marginal, the “degree zero”: the sound of drops of water or the growth of a plant, the classification of found pebbles, the color of mango leaves, the strength of the wind…

  • The exhibition is organized by Julien Fronsacq and Marco Scotini in partnership with Muzeum Susch
  • With the support of the Pictet Group Foundation, the Laura Grisi Estate, and P420, Bologna
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation genevoise de bienfaisance Valeria Rossi di Montelera
ghfk

g
h

L’artiste italienne Laura Grisi (1939-2017), par ses activités multiples qui font du « déplacement » l’une de leurs conditions fondamentales, incarne un sujet féminin nomade qui défie les politiques identitaires, conteste l’univocité des représentations et refuse l’uni-directionnalité du temps.

La pertinence des problématiques qu’elle envisage explique la nature de sa récente redécouverte : un renouvellement de l’attention critique qui va bien au-delà de la reconnaissance de sa contribution à l’art conceptuel, puisqu’elle concerne aussi des questions de genre et, ainsi que Teresa Castro l’a formulé récemment, « d’éco-féminisme ». 

En 1969, Grisi réalise Volume of Air, une salle cubique blanche entièrement et uniquement remplie d’air : pas d’image ni d’objet, rien qui ne vienne retenir le regard du visiteur. Seul un éclairage néon placé dans les angles de l’espace génère un effet lumineux poudré, remplissant le volume de quelque chose d’élusif et pourtant sensible. Rien d’autre que ce signe d’une absence, une matière aérienne qui élude la visibilité. C’est précisément ce rôle conféré à l’air qui distingue Grisi de ses contemporains de l’Arte Povera : « je ne voulais pas, déclare-t-elle, d’une peinture ou d’une sculpture qui contienne de l’air, de la terre ou de l’eau. Je ne voulais pas faire de l’air, de la terre ou de l’eau des objets. Je voulais recréer l’expérience des phénomènes naturels ».

Ses environnements « météorologiques » depuis 1968 visent en effet à reproduire des éléments ou des forces naturelles telles que le brouillard, l’arc-en-ciel ou la pluie, et restituer les qualités du sable, des pierres ou du vent. On pourrait faire ici un parallèle avec les pratiques d’artistes femmes telles que Judy Chicago, Maria Nordman, Teresa Burga ou Joan Jonas. Mais, pour Grisi, l’air est un medium – il n’est ni réifié en objet d’art ni l’objet d’une étude scientifique. Ainsi que l’écrivait la théoricienne féministe Luce Irigaray, « l’air n’est-il pas notre véritable habitat en tant que mortels ? Existe-t-il un refuge plus vaste, plus spacieux ou même plus apaisant que celui que nous offre l’air ? Est-ce que l’humanité peut vivre ailleurs que dans l’air ? »

Volume of Air est une première étape, quelque fondamentale qu’elle soit, d’un cycle de métamorphoses par lequel Laura Grisi donne à ressentir l’atmosphère, ses changements de pression ou de température, ou des phénomènes d’évaporation et de condensation. Ou, dit autrement, il s’agit de l’une des premières formulations par l’artiste de dispositifs où l’atmosphère génère des espaces : des environnements dans lesquels des phénomènes naturels sont reproduits ou transposés à l’intérieur d’un lieu d’exposition.

Le vent est l’acteur principal de son intervention pour le Teatro delle mostre à la galerie La Tartaruga en 1968. Le brouillard (avec des colonnes lumineuses) apparait en 1969 dans la cour de la galerie Marlborough de Rome. La pluie est présentée dans son exposition personnelle de la galerie Thelen de Cologne en 1970. Un tourbillon est le sujet d’un film 16mm projeté en cercle sur le sol, tandis qu’une machine à arc-en-ciel recrée « toutes les couleurs du spectre que l’air, qui n’en possède aucune, laisse traverser ». Toutes ses réalisations sont des chapitres d’un projet plus large et partiellement non réalisé, qui devait également inclure « la grêle, la condensation et le refroidissement de l’air ».

Ces œuvres étaient autant de raisons pour que l’aspect environnemental du travail de Grisi fasse l’objet d’une reconnaissance particulière. Inclue dans l’exposition séminale pour la sensibilité « éco-logique » de l’époque, Earth Air Fire Water : Elements of Art, organisée par Virginia Gunter au Boston Museum of Fine Arts en 1971, Grisi expose ainsi avec Hans Haacke, Dan Graham, Christo, Michael Heizer, Allan Kaprow, Dennis Oppenheim, Richard Serra et bien d’autres praticiens des « earthworks » qui émergent à la fin des années 1960. Pour autant, la tension entre l’échelle macro- et microscopique, entre l’universel et le particulier, entre le passé et le futur, font, chez Grisi, l’objet d’une attention singulière au minimal et au marginal, au « degré zéro » : le son de gouttes d’eau ou de la croissance d’une plante, la classification de galets, la couleur d’une feuille de manguier, la force du vent…

  • L’exposition est organisée par Julien Fronsacq et Marco Scotini en collaboration avec Muzeum Susch
  • Avec le soutien de la Fondation du Groupe Pictet, de l'Estate de Laura Grisi et de P420, Bologne
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation genevoise de bienfaisance Valeria Rossi di Montelera
ghfk