g
h

Casa Jorn, Albissola Marina

Since the exhibition Die Welt als Labyrinth held in 2017 at the MAMCO, the Geneva institution has forged strong links with the Casa Jorn, the museum dedicated to Asger Jorn at Albissola Marina on the Ligurian coast. The two museums wish to collaborate once again to carry out a project entitled BALLARD IN ALBISOLA. True to the spirit of the place—the Casa Jorn was the home and studio of Asger Jorn, who carried out many collective experiments there—the project takes the form of an on-site residence followed by an exhibition. A dozen artists, curators and video artists were thus invited to stay for ten days in April to produce specific pieces. In addition, works from Geneva’s public collections (from the MAMCO in particular) are also included.

The Casa Jorn is a house and garden on the heights of Albissola Marina (or Albisola), in the Italian region of Liguria, conceived by Asger Jorn and his friend Umberto Gambetta. The spontaneous spirit of the place embodies Jorn’s guiding principles, bringing together sculptures, paintings, and mosaics produced from found and repurposed materials of all kinds. It is the subject of Guy Debord’s 1974 text On Wild Architecture, who considered it the most successful example of situationist architecture, concluding that: “In this Italian dwelling complex, Jorn once again lends a hand and responds to even the concrete question of our appropriation of space, demonstrating that everyone could undertake to reconstruct around themselves the earth, which badly needs it.”

In addition to being a seaside resort, Albisola is especially famous for its ceramic workshops. Marinetti and Fontana, amongst others, undertook a number of works there. Albisola is also where Jorn organised the first Imaginist Bauhaus in 1954, inviting artists from across Europe, such as Karel Appel, Matta or Corneille, to experiment with clay, in a critical response to the functionalism that Max Bill’s new Bauhaus was concurrently developing.

The road to Abisola follows the so-called "flower motorway" (autoroute des fleurs) connecting Vintimille to Genoa. Built in the 1970’s, it is a sinuous road that meanders through a succession of tunnels and viaducs on a cliff edge. As such, 60% of this 113 km road section consists of civil engineering feats, with 67 tunnels and 90 bridges. It is on this very same motorway, a mere forty kilometers away from Abisola, that lies the Morandi bridge, whose tragic and spectacular collapse dominated the media in 2018. Extensive restauration work has been underway ever since, complicating access to the Ligurian coast.  

At the same period Jorn was building his house and the first sections of motorway were being installed in the 1970s, the English author J.G. Ballard was concluding his "urban disaster" trilogy, the three short novels that remain his most famous. Two of them—Crash and High-Rise—were adapted to film with varying degrees of success. No one has dared tackle the third novel yet—Concrete Island—a critical tale of urban survival. Having driven over the guardrail of the motorway, Maitland, the main protagonist, crashes onto a titular concrete island below—a wasteland amongst underpasses. Completely isolated from the rest of the world, his only means to survive is to recreate his former existence from the scraps of consumer society. 

This novel forms the backdrop for BALLARD IN ALBISOLA. Beyond metaphorical narrative links (a makeshift world below the motorway), the evocation of this novel within the context of Jorn’s house raises a series of parameters, in the manner of a contradictory collage: one which imagines concrete within a land of ceramics, brings the remnants of an urban disaster to the seaside, proposes to turn your back to the sea to face the motorway, and to play out a "speculative fiction in the present tense" (as Concrete Island was described) in a "kind of inverted Pompei" (to quote Debord’s famous words on Casa Jorn). 

With Pierre-Olivier Arnaud, Stéphanie Cherpin, Beatrice Delcorde, David Evrard, Claire FitzGerald, Jill Gasparina, Federico Nicolao, Julie Portier, Denis Savary, Ambroise Tièche, Sarah Tritz

And the works of Angela Bulloch, Guy de Cointet et Robert Whilite, Liam Gillick, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Gordon Matta-Clark, Eduardo Paolozzi, Philippe Parreno

  • The project is organized by Paul Bernard, Cyane Findji, Luca Bochicchio, Stella Catteneo, and Daniele Pannucci
  • With the support of Comune di Albissola Marina, Les Amis du MAMCO, Fonds d’art contemporain de la ville de Genève, Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain, Genève, Centre national des arts plastiques, Wallonie-Bruxelles International, Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation Lombard Odier
ghfk

g
h

Casa Jorn, Albissola Marina

Depuis l’exposition Die Welt als Labyrinth qui s’est tenu en 2017 au MAMCO, le musée de Genève a tissé des liens avec la Casa Jorn, le musée dédié à Asger Jorn à Albissola Marina, sur la côte ligure. Les deux musées collaborent de nouveau pour réaliser un projet intitulé BALLARD IN ALBISOLA. Fidèle à l’esprit du lieu – la Casa Jorn fut la maison et l’atelier de l’artiste qui y réalisa de nombreuses expérimentations collectives – le projet prend la forme d’une résidence sur place suivie d’une exposition. Une dizaine d’artistes, curateurs et vidéastes ont ainsi été invités à résider une dizaine de jours durant le mois d’août pour y produire des pièces spécifiques. A cela s’ajoutent des œuvres issues des collections publiques genevoises et du MAMCO en particulier.

La Casa Jorn désigne une maison et son jardin élaborés intégralement par Asger Jorn et son ami Umberto Gambetta sur les hauteurs d’Albissola Marina (également orthographié Albisola), en Ligurie. Echafaudé selon les principes spontanéistes de Jorn, le lieu comprend des sculptures, des peintures, des mosaïques réalisées avec des résidus en tout genre. Guy Debord lui a consacré un texte en 1974 intitulé « L’architecture sauvage » : il voit dans la construction l’exemple le plus abouti de ce que serait une architecture situationniste, et conclut : « Dans cette habitation italienne, mettant une fois de plus la main à la pâte, Jorn montre comment, aussi sur cette question concrète de notre appropriation de l'espace, chacun pourra entreprendre de reconstruire autour de lui la Terre qui en a bien besoin. » 

  Albisola est une station balnéaire réputée pour ses ateliers de céramique. Marinetti ou Fontana y ont entre autres réalisé un certain nombre de travaux. C’est à Albisola encore que Jorn a organisé les premières manifestations du Bauhaus Imaginiste dès 1954, invitant des artistes de toute l’Europe, dont Karel Appel, Matta ou Corneille, à expérimenter avec la terre, dans une perspective critique du fonctionnalisme que développe au même moment le nouveau Bauhaus de Max Bill. 

Pour se rendre à Albisola, on emprunte « l’autoroute des fleurs » reliant Vintimille à Gênes. Construite dans les années 1970, c’est une autoroute sinueuse qui se déploie en une succession de tunnels et de viaducs à flancs de falaise. Un tronçon de 113 km est ainsi constitué à 60 % d’ouvrages d’art, comprenant 67 tunnels et 90 ponts. C’est sur cette autoroute, à une quarantaine de kilomètres d’Albisola, que se trouve le pont Morandi, dont les tragiques images de l’écroulement ont inondé les médias en 2018. Depuis lors, de vastes travaux de restauration de ces autoroutes ont été entrepris, compliquant l’accès à la côte ligure. 

  Au début des années 1970, tandis que Jorn construisait sa maison et que l’on inaugurait les premiers tronçons de l’autoroute, le romancier J. G. Ballard terminait sa trilogie de béton, trois courts romans qui demeurent les plus célèbres écrits par le Britannique. Deux d’entre eux, Crash et IGH, furent adaptés au cinéma avec des fortunes diverses. Personne en revanche n’a encore osé s’emparer du troisième, Concrete Island, qui prend les contours d’une « robinsonnade » urbaine. A la suite d’une sortie de route, Maitland, le héros, est projeté dans une terrain vague perdu en contrebas des échangeurs d’autoroutes. Complètement isolé du reste du monde, il n’a d’autre choix pour survivre que de recréer ses conditions d’existence à partir des débris rejetés par la société de consommation.  

  Concrete Island constitue l’arrière-fond de BALLARD IN ALBISOLA. Il y a en effet une similitude narrative dans la fiction de Ballard et la construction de la maison ligure : bricoler un monde en contrebas d’une autoroute. Mais au-delà, l’évocation du roman dans ce contexte suscite un certain nombre de principes, de l’ordre du collage contradictoire : envisager le béton au pays de la céramique, amener une zone urbaine dans une station balnéaire, tourner le dos à la mer pour regarder l’autoroute, faire jouer un « roman d’anticipation du présent » (ainsi que fut décrit Concrete Island) dans « une sorte de Pompéi inversé » (pour reprendre encore les mots de Debord sur la Casa Jorn). 

Avec : Pierre-Olivier Arnaud, Stéphanie Cherpin, Beatrice Delcorde, David Evrard, Claire FitzGerald, Jill Gasparina, Federico Nicolao, Julie Portier, Denis Savary, Ambroise Tièche, Sarah Tritz

Et les œuvres de : Angela Bulloch, Guy de Cointet et Robert Whilite, Liam Gillick, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Gordon Matta-Clark, Eduardo Paolozzi, Philippe Parreno

  • Le projet est organisé par Paul Bernard, Cyane Findji, Luca Bochicchio, Stella Catteneo et Daniele Pannucci
  • Avec le soutien de la Comune di Albissola Marina, Les Amis du MAMCO, Fonds d’art contemporain de la ville de Genève, Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain, Genève, Centre national des arts plastiques, Wallonie-Bruxelles International, Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation Lombard Odier
ghfk