g
h

The work of Julia Scher (b. 1954), which first appeared in the 1980s, is noteworthy for its systematic use of surveillance techniques, particularly CCTV. Scher’s technical background provided her with in-depth knowledge of a range of surveillance systems. She worked at a well-known security firm for a period of time before setting up her own company, Safe and Secure Productions. Each of Scher’s installations satirically transforms exhibition spaces into regimes of total control, and as such disturbingly alters the behavior of viewers, who unwittingly become both observers and the observed. At the intersection of both the Orwellian drive for absolute power and the voyeuristic or narcissistic world of intimate, self-referential recordings, Scher’s work presents a tongue-in-cheek reflection on the ideology of security and its dangers. 

Invited to exhibit in the midst of the museum’s collections, Scher has chosen to greet visitors with an updated version of the artist’s Girl Dogs (2005–2021)—twin Doberman statues in marble. The very embodiment of the watchdog, and (wrongly) renowned for its aggressiveness, the Doberman is a breed that is commonly associated with ferocity and law enforcement. Scher has added, however, feline qualities to these dogs’ faces and paws. Their pink color (ubiquitous in Scher’s work) seemingly transforms them into gentle, vulnerable creatures. The greeting they convey to visitors is akin to the tonalities of a warm, anonymous voice typically used for public announcements.

Intended to reassure the viewer, the dogs’ seemingly benevolent presence actually induces feelings of unease. This ambiguous, psychosocial aspect of surveillance serves as raw material for Scher. In an upper corner of the room, we find a poorly disguised camera placed in the midst of a bouquet of carnivalesque fuchsia-colored feathers. As reflected in its title–Hidden Camera (Architectural Vagina) (1991–2018)—the work is vaginal-shaped, evoking the feminist dimension present throughout Scher’s work. By employing a symbolic, formal vocabulary traditionally associated with the feminine (and thus with gentleness and benevolence) to cloak devices otherwise perceived as intrusive and repressive, the artist mockingly deconstructs the visual lexicon of the seemingly innocent.

As Anna Indych already noted in 2002: “Years before popular culture brought us ‘Jennicam,’ Big Brother and The Truman Show, Julia Scher made surveillance an art form.” Two decades on, in 2021, reality TV seems like old hat, relegated to late night slots on cable channels. It is clear, however, that we live in an era of pervasive surveillance. On the one hand, social media and technological advances continue to intensify our obsession with recording the totality of our lives. On the other hand, whistleblowers have laid bare the extraordinary means that intelligence agencies deploy to spy on individuals’ lives. With a great deal of humor, Scher very early on grasped the mechanisms of social control at work in both the public and private spheres, questioning the logic of sacrificing personal freedom in the name of security. As she writes: “But most evidence indicates that living in the shadow of the burgeoning security apparatus (which encompasses both the public and private sectors) creates a steady state of paranoia and self-censorship and is heavily responsible for the gradual erosion of our freedom.”

  • Exposition organisée par Paul Bernard et Lionel Bovier
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation Lombard Odier
ghfk

g
h

Apparue dans les années 1980, l’œuvre de Julia Scher (*1954) se caractérise par son recours systématique aux outils de contrôle, notamment la vidéo-surveillance. A la faveur d’une formation technique, l’artiste a en effet acquis des connaissances précises sur les différents systèmes de surveillance – elle a même, à ce titre, longtemps travaillé pour une compagnie reconnue avant de fonder sa propre agence, Safe and Secure Productions. Sur un mode parodique, chacune de ses interventions plonge l’espace de l’exposition dans le régime du contrôle total et s’envisage ainsi à l’aune du trouble qu’elle induit sur le comportement des visiteurs, devenus malgré eux sujets observant et objets regardés. A la confluence du sentiment orwellien de l’omniscience du pouvoir et du désir voyeuriste et narcissique pour les enregistrements intimes et réflexifs, l’œuvre de Scher propose ainsi une analyse sarcastique de l’idéologie sécuritaire et de ses dangers. 

Invitée à intervenir au MAMCO, Scher accueille le visiteur en présentant une version actualisée de Girl Dogs (2005-2021) : deux statues en marbre représentant des dobermans. Symbole du chien de garde, réputé (à tort) pour son agressivité, le doberman est une race que l’on associe naturellement au maintien de l’ordre et à la férocité. Scher a cependant donné au visage et aux pattes de ces chiens quelques traits félins. Leur couleur rose (omniprésente dans l’œuvre de Scher) semble par ailleurs les rendre vulnérables et doux. Le message d’accueil qu’ils nous transmettent prend le timbre de ces voix sans auteurs et chaleureuses, caractéristiques des annonces publiques. 

Censée nous rassurer, la présence a priori bienveillante de ces molosses produit en réalité un certain malaise. Cette dimension psychosociale ambiguë de la surveillance constitue la matière première de Scher. On trouve encore, dans un angle supérieur de la salle, une caméra bien mal camouflée au milieu d’un bouquet de plumeaux fuchsia. Hidden Camera (Architectural Vagina) (1991-2018) reprend par ailleurs, comme son titre l’indique, les contours d’un vagin et rappelle la dimension féministe qui traverse l’œuvre de Scher. En usant d’un répertoire symbolique et formel traditionnellement associé au féminin pour enrober des dispositifs perçus autrement comme intrusifs et liberticides, l’artiste déconstruit, en la moquant, la rhétorique visuelle de l’inoffensif. 

Anna Indych écrivait déjà en 2002 : « Des années avant que la culture populaire nous apporte “Jennicam”, Big Brother et Le Truman Show, Julia Scher faisait de la surveillance une forme d’art. » Vingt ans plus tard en 2021, la télé-réalité semble une antiquité, cantonnée désormais aux heures tardives des chaînes câblées. Force est de constater cependant que nous vivons dans une époque de surveillance généralisée. D’un côté les réseaux sociaux et le développement des technologies n’ont cessé d’accroître la fascination pour la captation intégrale de nos existences. De l’autre les lanceurs d’alerte ont pu révéler les moyens ahurissants dont se dotent les agences de renseignement pour épier les vies privées. Avec beaucoup d’humour, Scher semble avoir perçu très tôt ces dynamiques du contrôle social à l’œuvre tant dans l’espace public que privé, questionnant le sacrifice des libertés individuelles au nom d’une exigence de protection. Comme elle l’écrit : « Il est évident que vivre dans l’ombre de ces dispositifs de sécurité en plein essor (tant dans l’espace public que privé) crée un sentiment constant de paranoïa et d’autocensure et se trouve largement responsable de l’érosion progressive de notre liberté. »

  • Exposition organisée par Paul Bernard et Lionel Bovier
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation Lombard Odier
ghfk