2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
October 12, 2016—January 29, 2017

Ericka Beckman, The Super-8 Trilogy



The work of Ericka Beckman (b. in 1951, Hampstead) ques- tions our relation to images and how they structure our per- ception of reality. Her videos seem to be “primitive cartoons, enigmatic allegories, dynamic, bearing a comic violence, sexual images, perceptual games, and ingenious optical effects,” to quote Jim Hoberman.

After graduating from Cal Arts in 1976, Beckman settled in New York and started showing her work in renowned independent spaces such as The Kitchen, Artists Space, and Franklin Furnace. At the end of the 1970s, the artist created a series of experimental films known as The Super-8 Trilogy, made of We Imitate; We Break Up (1978), The Broken Rule (1979), and Out of Hand (1981). Influenced by post-Punk and Structuralist theories, these films are among the most emblematic and original works from the Pictures Generation. They are shown here in their entirety.

Beckman stages herself with a cast made up of her artist friends (including James Welling, Matt Mullican, and Mike Kelley) in bright color environments where songs, makeshift special effects and oneiric choreographies—without any dialogue nor real structure—are intertwined. We find allusions to children cognitive development theories from Swiss psychologist Jean Piaget, but also to the culture of televised sports or the golden age of MGM musicals. As the artist herself recently explained: “I strive to create performative images. My goal, since the beginning of my career, is to create a purely visual language, based on action.”

2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
du 12 octobre 2016 au 29 janvier 2017

Ericka Beckman, The Super-8 Trilogy



L’œuvre d’Ericka Beckman (née en 1951 à Hampstead) questionne la relation que nous entretenons avec les images et comment celles-ci structurent notre perception de la réalité. Ses films apparaissent comme « des cartoons primitifs, des allégories énigmatiques, dynamiques, porteuses de violence comique, d'imagerie sexuelle, de jeux perceptuels et d'effets optiques ingénieux » pour reprendre les termes de Jim Hoberman.

Diplômée de Cal Arts en 1976, Beckman s’installe ensuite à New York et commence à y exposer son travail dans des lieux  indépendants renommés comme The Kitchen, Artist’s Space et Franklin Furnace. À la fin des années 1970, l’artiste réalise un ensemble de films expérimentaux connu sous le nom The Super-8 Trilogy constitué de We Imitate; We Break Up (1978), The Broken Rule (1979) et Out of Hand (1981). Traversés par la culture post-punk et les théories du structuralisme, ces films sont parmi les œuvres les plus emblématiques et originales de la Pictures Generation. Ils sont ici montrés dans leur intégralité.

Beckman s’y met elle-même en scène avec un casting d’amis artistes (dont James Welling, Matt Mullican et Mike Kelley) dans des environnements aux couleurs acidulées où se mêlent chansons, effets spéciaux bricolés et chorégraphies oniriques, sans dialogue ni réelle structure narrative. On y retrouve des allusions aux théories du psychologue suisse Jean Piaget sur le développement cognitif des enfants, mais aussi à la culture des sports télévisés ou à l’âge d’or des comédies musicales de la Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer. Comme l’artiste l’expliquait récemment : « Je cherche à réaliser des images performatives. Mon objectif, depuis le début de ma carrière, est d’inventer un langage purement visuel, basé sur l’action. »