2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
February 22—May 7, 2017

Zeitgeist

Vittorio Brodmann, Werner Büttner, Nina Childress, William N. Copley, Andreas Dobler, Nicole Eisenman, Jana Euler, Peter Fischli & David Weiss, Jason Fox, Mathis Gasser, Vidya Gastaldon, Rachel Harrison, Lothar Hempel, David Hominal, Dorothy Iannone, Hayan Kam Nakache, Karen Kilimnik, Jutta Koether, Friedrich Kuhn, Christian Lindow, Tala Madani, John Miller, Kaspar Müller, Laura Owens, Mai-Thu Perret, Walter Price, Walter Robinson, David Salle, Hans Schärer, Jean-Frédéric Schnyder, Michael Scott, Alain Séchas, Konstantin Sgouridis, Josh Smith, Frank Stella, Sarah Tritz, Rosemarie Trockel, Caroline Tschumi, Amelie von Wulffen, Peter Wächtler, Aldo Walker, Sue Williams, Seyoung Yoon


Based on the observation that there is a renewed interest in figurative and expressive practices, this exhibition outlines a genealogy of these practices through forty European and American artists who have been active between the 1960s and today. If the title of the exhibition (the spirit of the time) intends on qualifying a current atmosphere, it also refers to an eponymous exhibition which was held at the Martin Gropius Bau in Berlin, in 1982. Very much discussed at the time, this exhibition was a testimony to the surge of figurative and expressionist works appearing from both sides of the Atlantic, with the American neo-expressionism, the Italian Transavanguardia, and the German Neue Wilden. A manifest of this period, the Berlin exhibition left its mark in the recent history of art as the high point in the debates between modern and postmodern, often argued in terms of life and death of the painting.

David Salle’s monumental diptych Zeitgeist II, shown in Berlin in 1982, evokes this historical controversy in the way the painter crystallized the heated debates around figuration. Although figuration, on the cusp of the 1980s, is indeed denounced by some as being too academic, reactionary, and market-oriented, others also celebrate it as a liberation from abstract and conceptual constraints which had prevailed in the modern narrative of the post-war era. The return of the figure thus appears as that of an outcast, free to delve into the allegoric and the melodramatic, as well  as the grotesque and the abject.

One should also mention the progressive re-evaluation of a kind of painting marginalized from the official history of art, as revealed in the exhibitions Bad Painting, in 1978 and The Other Tradition, in 1966. In a provincial sort of way, it went against the aesthetic cannons and dealt with an extraordinary diverse iconographic repertoire, from Antiquity to mass culture. In this respect, we should mention the importance of figures such as William N. Copley or Dorothy Iannone, and the threads they managed to weave between the vernacular and avant-garde.

These international artistic debates found a particular resonance in Switzerland. In Zurich in the 1970s,  the artistic eccentricities of a Friedrich Kuhn are a clear disavowal of Max Bill’s dogma of concrete abstraction, whereas Peter Fischli and David Weiss found in art brut and folklore means to question the virtuosity and the status of the artist. If this “other” tradition, this “other” modernity was perceived for a long time as a parallel narrative caught up the dialectics of insider/outsider, it appears today as an extension of the field of pictorial possibilities.

This exhibition at MAMCO leads the visitor through several stages of this divergent narrative in the context of a transatlantic geography. The contributions of younger artists remind us that in our digital era—marked by a saturation of images—contemporary practices are perhaps more figural than figurative, and that expressiveness is to be thought as a critical tool rather than the testimony of an ever uncertain subjectivity.

The exhibition is curated by Paul Bernard, Lionel Bovier, and Fabrice Stroun.
It is supported by the Pictet Group Charitable Foundation.


View of the Zeitgeist exhibition, MAMCO, 2017:

from left to right: Aldo Walker, Untitled (Teckel), 1984, MAMCO coll.; David Salle, Zeitgeist Painting No. 2, 1982,
Andrea Caratsch gallery’s coll., St. Moritz; Peter Fischli & David Weiss, Dicke Vase, 1986, Ringier coll., Zürich

from left to right: Sue Williams, Miss Alternate Universes, 1990, Ringier coll., Zürich, and
Lothar Hempel, Wirst du jemals erwachsen werden? (Will you ever grow up?), 2007, FRAC Champagne-Ardenne coll., Reims

on the left and on the right: works by Vittorio Brodmann, 2016; at the center: Caroline Tschumi,
Catherine Deneuve dans le Noir avec des Diamants, 2016, courtesy of the artist

from left to right, works by: Hayan Kam Nakache, Frank Stella, Rachel Harrison, and Kaspar Müller

from left to right: Jana Euler, Untitled, 2015, private coll., Geneva; Walter Price, With them and blues, 2016,
private coll., Geneva; Tala Madani, Spiral Suicide (throw back), 2014, coll. Sigg, Mauensee

from left to right: Mai-Thu Perret, The Prairie VI, 2013, courtesy of the artist and Francesca Pia gallery, Zürich,
and The Prairie VII, 2013, private coll., Zürich; Amelie von Wulffen, Ohne Titel, 2016, private coll., Zürich;
Laura Owens, Untitled, 2012, Ringier coll., Zürich







Photos: Annik Wetter—MAMCO, Geneva.

2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
22 février — 7 mai 2017

Zeitgeist

Vittorio Brodmann, Werner Büttner, Nina Childress, William N. Copley, Andreas Dobler, Nicole Eisenman, Jana Euler, Peter Fischli & David Weiss, Jason Fox, Mathis Gasser, Vidya Gastaldon, Rachel Harrison, Lothar Hempel, David Hominal, Dorothy Iannone, Hayan Kam Nakache, Karen Kilimnik, Jutta Koether, Friedrich Kuhn, Christian Lindow, Tala Madani, John Miller, Kaspar Müller, Laura Owens, Mai-Thu Perret, Walter Price, Walter Robinson, David Salle, Hans Schärer, Jean-Frédéric Schnyder, Michael Scott, Alain Séchas, Konstantin Sgouridis, Josh Smith, Frank Stella, Sarah Tritz, Rosemarie Trockel, Caroline Tschumi, Amelie von Wulffen, Peter Wächtler, Aldo Walker, Sue Williams, Seyoung Yoon


Constatant l’actuel intérêt pour des pratiques figuratives et expressives, l’exposition en propose une généalogie, réunissant une quarantaine d’artistes européens et américains actifs entre les années 1960  et aujourd’hui. Si le titre (l’esprit du temps) qualifie un climat actuel, il renvoie également à une exposition éponyme tenue au Martin Gropius Bau de Berlin en 1982. Très discutée à l’époque, elle témoignait de la déferlante qui s’abattit de part et d’autre de l’Atlantique, entre néo-expressionnisme américain, Transavanguardia italienne et Neue Wilden allemands. Manifeste d’une époque, l’exposition berlinoise a marqué l’histoire de l’art récente comme un point d’acmé dans les débats entre modernes et postmodernes, souvent argumentés en termes de vie et de mort de la peinture.

On retrouve au MAMCO un monumental diptyque de David Salle, exposé à Berlin en 1982. À elle seule, cette œuvre permet d’évoquer la controverse historique, tant le peintre a pu cristalliser les débats autour de la figuration. À l’orée des années 1980, si la tendance figurative est en effet dénoncée par certains comme académique, réactionnaire et dictée par le marché, elle est célébrée par d’autres comme une libération des carcans abstraits et conceptuels qui ont prévalu dans le récit moderne d’après-guerre. Ce retour de la figure s’entrevoit donc comme celui d’un refoulé ; et la peinture peut désormais s’aventurer aussi bien sur les terrains du mélodrame et de l’allégorie, que sur ceux du grotesque et de l’abjection.

Il faut souligner la réévaluation parallèle d’une peinture longtemps tenue en marge de l’histoire de l’art officielle, comme en témoignent les expositions Bad Painting en 1978 ou The Other Tradition en 1966 : une peinture provinciale, à rebours des canons esthétiques, qui manipule un répertoire iconographique allant de l’art antique à la culture de masse. D’où l’importance de figures comme William Copley ou Dorothy Iannone par les liens qu’elles ont su tisser entre vernaculaire et avant-gardes.

Ces débats artistiques ont trouvé une résonnance particulière en Suisse : dans le Zurich des années 1970, les frasques artistiques d’un Friedrich Kuhn sont autant de désaveux du dogme de Max Bill et de l’abstraction concrète, tandis que Peter Fischli et David Weiss puisent dans l’art brut et le folklore des motifs propices à questionner la virtuosité et le statut de l’artiste. Longtemps perçu comme un récit parallèle pris dans une dialectique outsider/insider, cette « autre » tradition, cette « autre » modernité apparaît aujourd’hui comme une extension du champ des possibles picturaux.

L’exposition du MAMCO conduit le visiteur à travers plusieurs étapes de ce récit divergent, envisagé dans une géographie transatlantique, qui marque le questionnement critique de l’image, de l’expressivité et du style. Les contributions des plus jeunes artistes nous rappellent en outre que, à l’ère de la saturation des images, les pratiques contemporaines sont peut-être davantage figurales que figuratives et que l’expressivité s’entend comme un outil critique plutôt que le témoignage d’une subjectivité toujours incertaine.

L’exposition est organisée par Paul Bernard, Lionel Bovier et Fabrice Stroun
et bénéficie du soutien de la Fondation de bienfaisance du Groupe Pictet.


Vues partielles de l’exposition Zeitgeist, MAMCO, 2017 :

de gauche à droite : Aldo Walker, Sans titre (Teckel), 1984, coll. MAMCO ; David Salle, Zeitgeist Painting No. 2, 1982,
coll. galerie Andrea Caratsch, St. Moritz ; Peter Fischli & David Weiss, Dicke Vase, 1986, coll. Ringier, Zurich

de gauche à droite : Sue Williams, Miss Alternate Universes, 1990, coll. Ringier, Zurich, et
Lothar Hempel, Wirst du jemals erwachsenwerden ? (Will you ever grow up?), 2007, coll. FRAC Champagne-Ardenne, Reims

à gauche et à droite : des œuvres de Vittorio Brodmann, 2016, et, au centre :
Caroline Tschumi, Catherine Deneuve dans le Noir avec des Diamants, 2016, court. de l’artiste

de gauche à droite : des œuvres de Hayan Kam Nakache, Frank Stella, Rachel Harrison et Kaspar Müller

de gauche à droite : Jana Euler, Untitled, 2015, coll. privée, Genève ; Walter Price, With them and blues, 2016,
coll. privée, Genève ; Tala Madani, Spiral Suicide (throw back), 2014, coll. Sigg, Mauensee

de gauche à droite : Mai-Thu Perret, The Prairie VI, 2013, court. de l’artiste et galerie Francesca Pia, Zurich,
et The Prairie VII, 2013, coll. privée, Zurich ; Amelie von Wulffen, Ohne Titel, 2016, coll. privée,Zurich
et Laura Owens, Untitled, 2012, coll. Ringier, Zurich.









Photos : Annik Wetter — MAMCO, Genève.