2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
Collections / January 30, 2017—

Jenny Holzer


The work of Jenny Holzer (b. 1950, Gallipolis, Ohio) is based on language and on modes of communication typical of our modern capitalist society. At the beginning of her career, the artist appended her texts, which were often subversive messages, on billboards and signs, first painting them by hand, then printing them; the Truisms (1977–1979) and Inflammatory Essays (1979–1982) are examples of this practice, one of which is presented in this exhibition.

In 1982, she started using LED technology, first by deploying them on advertising billboards found in Western metropoles, and later in more immersive environments as she began to appropriate this electronic technology even more. The texts that parade on these screens are of a poetical and political nature, like her first posters series. They are meant to trigger personal reactions in the visitors by mixing public and private, social and physical, universal and individual. Since 1996, the artist mainly works with light projections of texts on building facades, mixing her own texts with that of writers such as poet Henri Cole, or Literature Nobel prizes Elfriede Jelinek and Wislawa Szymborska.

Heir of Minimal and Conceptual art, and influenced by the 1970s  feminist movements, Jenny Holzer is part of this generation of artists questioning the space of galleries and museums, as much as the role of subjectivity and individualism in art. She was part of the Colab group in New York in the 1970s  and often gave priority to the collaboration process. This principle is at the heart of a series of paintings created by graffiti artist Lady Pink since 1983. Lady Pink (b. 1964, Ambato, Ecuador) has been working in New York since the end of the 1970s  where she became a pioneer of urban graffiti. Pink  chooses the motifs she sprays on the canvas, while Holzer entrusts Ilona Granet, another artist, with reproducing a text she wrote especially for this work on the canvas. Less known than the parading light texts, and other electronic projection devices from the same period, two of these six-handed paintings are presented in the adjacent room.


This exhibition received the support of gallery Sprüth Magers.

2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
Collections / 30 janvier 2017 —

Jenny Holzer


Le travail de Jenny Holzer (née en 1950 à Gallipolis, Ohio) est basé sur  le langage et les modes de communication de la société capitaliste moderne. Au début de sa carrière, l’artiste place ses textes, comme autant de messages subversifs, sur  des panneaux et des écriteaux, d’abord peints à la main, puis imprimés. Il en est ainsi des Truisms (1977-1979) et des Inflammatory Essays (1979-1982), dont un exemple est présenté ici.

En 1982, elle commence à utiliser la technologie des LED (diodes électroluminescentes), d’abord déployées sur des panneaux d’affichage du type de ceux qui occupent l’espace public des métropoles occidentales, puis dans des environnements immersifs, à mesure qu’elle s’approprie cette technologie électronique. Les textes qui défilent sur  ces écrans sont, comme dans les premières séries de posters, de nature à la fois poétique et politique : ils sont destinés à susciter des réactions personnelles chez les visiteurs, tant ils mêlent le public et le privé, le social et le physique, l’universel et l’individuel. Depuis 1996, l’artiste travaille principalement avec des projections lumineuses de textes sur  des façades de bâtiments, mêlant ses propres textes avec ceux d’écrivains tels que le poète Henri Cole ou les prix  Nobel de littérature Elfriede Jelinek et Wislawa Szymborska.

Héritière de l’art minimal et conceptuel, influencée par les mouvements féministes des années 1970, Jenny Holzer participe de cette génération d’artistes qui remettent en cause tant l’espace des galeries et des musées, que le rôle de la subjectivité et de l’individualisme dans l’art. Elle fit partie dans les années 1970 du groupe Colab à New York et a souvent privilégié le processus de collaboration. Ce principe est au cœur d’une série de peintures réalisées avec la graffiteuse Lady Pink  depuis 1983. Lady Pink (née en 1964 à Ambato, Equateur, de son vrai nom Sandra Fabara) travaille depuis la fin des années 1970 à New York, où elle devient une pionnière du graffiti urbain. Elle choisit les motifs qu’elle réalise au spray sur  la toile, tandis que Jenny Holzer confie à une autre amie artiste, Ilona Granet, le soin de reproduire un texte qu’elle a écrit pour le tableau. Moins connus que les défilants lumineux et autres systèmes d’affichage électronique de la même époque, deux de ces tableaux produits à six mains sont présentés dans la salle adjacente.


L’exposition a reçu le soutien de la galerie Sprüth Magers.







Vue partielle de l'exposition, MAMCO, 2017.
Courtoisie de l'artiste et Sprüth Magers.
Photo : Annik Wetter — MAMCO, Genève.