2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
Collections / January 30, 2017—

Jack Goldstein


“What can we make of an artist like Jack Goldstein who after performances, films, and painting that stressed spectacular effects, turns to “abstract” paintings—or, more precisely, painting of abstracted images or event…?” With this interrogation Hal Foster opened “Signs Taken for Wonders,” an important essay published in 1986 that aimed to describe and evaluate practices by artists related to “appropriationism.” Casting a critical eye on this “new painting,” Foster remarks on its ability to instrumentalize styles inherited from the avant-gardes, its particular form of historical bad faith, and its more than ambiguous relationship with the market—a set of attributes it could share with neo-expressionism, the dominant trend of the time.

This text is symptomatic of Jack Goldstein’s critical reception during the 1980s (born 1945 in Montreal, died in 2003 in Los Angeles, where he established in the 1990s having left New York). Indeed, his work played a pivotal role for many commentators reflecting on the rise of “appropriation” in the “Pictures Generation” and later of “Simulationism” and “Neo-Geo.” First associated with post-Minimal sculpture, then linked to the development of performance in California (where he studied), to finally be affiliated with the critical return of a painting which foregrounded its own objecthood, Goldstein’s protean figure was involved in most of the neo-avant-gardes of the 1970s  and 1980s. His work seems to enable an entire generation of politically engaged critics, such as Douglas Crimp, Craig Owens, and Hal  Foster, to make global prognostics on the fate of postmodernity.

Goldstein’s practice is presented here by a selection of paintings ranging from the “war spectacles” period (1980–1983), and the “nature spectacles” one (1983–1986), to the “technology spectacles” (1986–1990), and also includes, in another room, a selection of his most wellknown 16mm films (1972–1976).


The exhibition is supported by the artist’s Estate.

2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
Collections / 30 janvier 2017 —

Jack Goldstein


« Que faire d’un artiste tel que Jack Goldstein qui, après des performances, des films et des peintures mettant l’accent sur  des effets spectaculaires, se tourne vers une peinture « abstraite » — ou,  plus précisément, vers une peinture d’images et d’événements rendus abstraits ? ». Cette interrogation ouvre un important essai de Hal Foster de 1986, « Signs Taken for Wonders », s’attachant à décrire et évaluer les pratiques d’artistes rattachés à « l’appropriationnisme ». Portant un regard critique sur cette « nouvelle peinture », Foster lui prête une habileté à instrumentaliser les styles issus des avant-gardes, une certaine mauvaise foi historique et un rapport plus qu’ambigu avec le marché — tous traits qu’elle partagerait avec le néo-expressionnisme des années 1980.

Goldstein est né en 1945 à Montréal et décédé en 2003 à Los Angeles, où il vécut après avoir quitté New York dans les années 1990. Le texte de Foster est symptomatique de la réception de son travail au cours d’une décennie qui le consacre comme pivot de l’appropriation et de la « Pictures Generation », puis du « simulationnisme » et du « Neo-Geo ». Tour à tour considéré comme sculpteur post-minimal, associé aux développements de la performance en Californie (où il a étudié), puis au retour critique d’une peinture ayant accompli la modélisation du tableau en objet, le travail de Jack Goldstein traverse les courants néo-avant-gardistes des années 1970 et 1980. Pour toute une génération de critiques engagés, comme Douglas Crimp, Craig Owens et Hal Foster, cette œuvre permet d’effectuer un pronostic global sur la postmodernité.

La pratique de Goldstein est présentée ici par un ensemble de tableaux qui couvrent la période de ses « spectacles de la guerre » (1980-1983), celle des « spectacles de la nature » (1983-1986), puis « des spectacles de la technologie » (1986-1990), ainsi que ses films les plus connus (1972-1976), projetés dans une salle voisine.


L’exposition est organisée avec le soutien de l’Estate de Jack Goldstein.







Vues partielles de l'exposition, MAMCO, 2017.
Photos : Annik Wetter — MAMCO, Genève.